Sam McEwin

DJ, Producer
Sam McEwin {focus_keyword} Sam McEwin sam
Since purchasing his first turntable in late 1999 Sam McEwin very quickly emerged as one of Melbourne’s rising stars. After finishing high school in 2000 Sam postponed his university education and at the tender age of 19 landed his dream job managing an outer suburban record store called ‘Dance Arena’. Gaining crucial exposure to the Melbourne scene while pushing records on other eager young DJs, it was through his Dance Arena connections that Sam scored his first residency at the weekly house night Confusion. In 2002 while promoting for Melbourne club night ‘Fokus’, Sam, along with a group of other – then – up and coming DJs Matt Radovich, Peter Baker, Craig McWhinney and Jay Reading laid the groundwork for what eventually became the Melbourne Techno Collective. Earning recognition for his endless hard work and dedication to the Melbourne scene, Sam worked tirelessly to push techno in Melbourne.As a promoter, Sam’s name has been associated with a plethora of club nights, including Jack the Basics, Pantytek, Niche, Eight Bit Soul, Tastes Like Techno and numerous other Melbourne Techno Collective events.

As a DJ Sam has played support for the likes of Kevin Saunderson, Derrick May, Kenny Larkin, Aril Brikha, Surgeon, Robert Hood, Ignition Technician, Ben Sims, Carl Cox, Richie Hawtin, Magda, Steve Rachmad, Deetron, Joris Voorn, Chris Liebing, Speedy J, Jesper Dahlback, Cave, Bryan Zentz, Justin Berkovi, Stewert Walker, Jamie Bissmire and many others. Not to mention some of the biggest events in Australia such as Two Tribes, Hardware Universe, Sunshine People, Digital Music Festival, Earthcore, Strawberry Fields and Kiss My Grass.

Taking the majority of his influences from the local Melbourne scene Sam has drawn much inspiration from DJ’s such as Mike Callander, Ben Cromack, Will E Tell and most notably from his MTC co residents. However Sam has also drawn inspiration from the sounds of international DJ’s and producers such as Chris Liebing, Aril Brikha, Sam Geiser (Deetron), Jeff Mills & Richie Hawtin.